Yvo Desmedt

Distinguished Professor in Computer Science
Professor - Computer Science
Tags: Security Computer Science

Professional Preparation

Ph.D. - Applied Science
Kathlieke Universiteit Leuven - 1984
M.S. - Electrical Engineering
Kathlieke Universiteit Leuven - 1979

Research Areas

Current Research
  • Access Control
  • Anonymity and Internet Voting
  • Bridging theory and practice
  • Cryptanalysis, breaking and hacking of systems
  • Distributed and Network security (including:
    • Reliable and Perfectly Secure Message Transmission
    • Secret Sharing
    • Secure Multiparty Computation
  • Economic models for information security


Y. Desmedt, J. Vandewalle, and R. Govaerts. A critical analysis of the security of knapsack public key algorithms. IEEE Transaction on Information Theory, IT-30(4), pp. 601{611, July 1984. (Cited: ISI: 7, Google Scholar: 28) 1984 - Publication
M. Davio, Y. Desmedt, M. Fosseprez, R. Govaerts, J. Hulsbosch, P. Neutjens, P. Piret, J.-J. Quisquater, J. Vandewalle, and P. Wouters. Analytical characteristics of the DES. In D. Chaum, editor, Advances in Cryptology. Proc. Crypto 83, pp. 171{202. Plenum Press, 1984. Santa Barbara, California, U.S.A., August 22{24. (Cited: Google Scholar: 42) 1984 - Publication


BT-Chair of Information Security
University College London, U.K. [2004–2009]
Florida State University [1999–2004]
University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee [1995–1999]
Associate Professor
University of Wisconsin [1991–1995]
Assistant Professor
Universit de Montral, Canada [1987–1991]
Assistant Professor
Universit de Montral, Canada [1987–2018]
Visiting Profesor
Universit de Montral, Canada [1986–1987]
Post-doctoral NFWO (National Science Foundation Belgium) researcher
Katholieke Universiteit Leuven [1985–1986]
Visiting Assistant Professor
University of New Mexico [1985–1985]
Research Assistant
Katholieke Universiteit Leuven [1983–1984]

Additional Information

Current Professional Activities
  • editor in Chief IET Information Security Journal
  • editor of:
    • the Journal of Computer Security,
    • Information Processing Letters,
    • Advances in Mathematics of Communications
  • Chair of the Steering Committee of:
    • International Conference on Cryptology and Network Security
    • International Conference on Information Theoretic Security
  • Member of the Steering Committee of the International Workshop on Practice and Theory in Public Key Cryptography (PKC)
Prizes Awards, and other Honors
  • 1983 100 Year Bell Telephone Belgium Prize
  • 1985 IBM Belgium Prize for best PhD in Computer Science NFWO, Belgium
  • 1985 S.W.I.F.T. (Society for Worldwide Interbank Financial Telecommunication) Prize
  • 1992 Graduate School/University of Wisconsin | Milwaukee Foundation Research Award Graduate School
  • 2000 Center of Excellence in Information Security Education at Florida State University NSA
  • 2010 International Association of Cryptologic Research Fellow IACR Fellows
  • Committee