Dongsheng Brian Ma

Distinguished Chair in Microelectronics
Professor - Electrical Engineering
Tags: Electrical Engineering Computer Engineering

Professional Preparation

Ph.D. - Electrical and Electronic Engineering
Hong Kong University of Science and Technolgy, Hong Kong - 2003
M.S. - Electronic Science
NanKai University, Tianjin, China - 1998
- 1995

Research Areas

Prof. Dongsheng Brian Ma received the Ph.D. degree in Electrical & Electronic Engineering from the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong, in 2003. He received the B.S. degree with highest honors and the M.S. degree in electronic science from NanKai University, Tianjin, China, in 1995 and 1998, respectively. Ma started his teaching career at Louisiana State University, then joined University of Arizona, where he lead an unique university-industry program and became the first assistant professor holding a chaired professor position. He was awarded the Universitys Outstanding Faculty Award in 2006, and was promoted as associate professor with early tenure in 2009. He joined University of Texas at Dallas (UTD) in August 2010, where he is currently an associate professor in Electrical Engineering and an Erik Jonsson Distinguished Chair in Erik Jonsson School of Engineering and Computer Science. He also serves in Executive Committee and as Thrust Leader in Energy Efficiency at Texas Analog Center of Excellence (TxACE).


Y. Zhang, D. Ma, "A 50.3ns Transient-Response CR-Free SIMO Power Converter with Adaptive Current Compensation," IEEE VLSI Symposium on Circuits, pp. 10-11, Kyoto, Japan, June 2011. 2011 - Publication
C. Zheng, D. Ma, "Design of Monolithic ASM Module for DVS-Enabled Adaptive Power Converters", IEEE Trans. on Circuits & Systems II: Express Briefs, Vol. 58, No. 6, pp. 376-380, June 2011. 2011 - Publication
Y. Wang, D. Ma, "Design of Integrated Dual-Loop Delta-Sigma Modulated Switching Power Converter for Adaptive Wireless Powering in Biomedical Implants", IEEE Trans. on Industrial Electronics, Vol. 58, No. 9, pp. 4241-4249, Sept. 2011. 2011 - Publication
D. Ma, B. Wei, "Carbon Nanotube Supercapacitor Based Reconfigurable On-Chip Energy Storage and Management for Autonomous Wireless Sensor Nodes," 7th Workshop on Fronteris in Electronics, Puerto Rico, Dec. 2011 (Best Poster Paper Award, 2nd place). 2011 - Publication
D. Ma, R. Bondade, "Power Management IC Design for Efficient DVFS On-Chip Operation," in Integrated Microsystems: Electronics, Photonics and Biotechnology (Devices, Circuits, and Systems) (Editor: K. Iniewski), CRC Press, 1st Edition, Oct. 2011. 2011 - Publication
Y. Zhang, D. Ma, "Integrated SIMO DC-DC Converter with on-Line Charge Meter for Adaptive PCCM Operation," IEEE International Symposium on Circuits and Systems (ISCAS), pp. 245-248, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, May 2011. 2011 - Publication
Q. Zhang, J. Rong, D. Ma, B. Wei, "Governing Self-discharge Process in Activated Carbon Fabric-based Supercapacitors with Different Organic Electrolytes", Energy & Environmental Science, pp. 2152-2159, Vol. 4, No. 6, June 2011. 2011 - Publication
H. Chen, D. Ma, "A Fast-Transient DVS-Capable Switching Converter with IL-Emulated Hysteretic Control," IEEE VLSI Symposium on Circuits, pp. 282-283, Kyoto, Japan, June 2011. 2011 - Publication
J. Sankman, D. Ma, "An Subthreshold Digital Maximum Power Point Tracker for Micropower Piezoelectric Energy Harvesting Applications," (invited paper) in Special Session of Energy Harvesting Circuits and Systems, 19th IFIP/IEEE International Conference on Very Large Scale Integration VLSI-SoC, pp. 363-367, Kowloon, Hong Kong, Oct. 2011. 2011 - Publication
D. Ma, "Power Management IC Design for Efficient DVFS On-Chip Operation", 2010 CMOS Emerging Technologies Workshop, Whistler, BC, Canada, May 2010, invited talk. 2010 - Publication

Additional Information

Honors and Awards
  • 2009, Best Gradaute Thesis Award, College of Engineering, The University of Arizona, (as thesis advisor of Ms. Ling Su); 
  • 2009, ssss Nominated for University of Arizona Accolades Outstanding Faculty Award; 
  • 2009, 1st Place Winner in 52nd IEEE International Midwest Symp. on Circuits & Systems Student Paper Contest (as student advisor of Rajdeep Bondade); 
  • 2009-2014, United States National Science Foundation CAREER Award; 
  • 2006-2008, Analog Devices Endowed Professorship (2nd term after nationwide selection); 
  • 2007, IEEE/ACM International Conference on Computer-Aided Designs (ICCAD) Best Paper Award Nominee; 
  • 2007, IEEE Senior Member; 
  • 2006, The University of Arizona AAFSAA) Outstanding Faculty Award of the Year; 
  • 2006, Best Graduate Thesis Award, College of Engineering, The University of Arizona, (as thesis advisor of Keith Sanborn); 
  • 2004-2006, Analog Devices Chair Professorship; 
  • 2004, Best Design Award, IEEE/ACM Asia & South Pacific Design Automation Conference (ASP-DAC); 
  • 2002, Schmidt Award of Excellence; 
  • 2002, Deutsche Forschungs Gemeinschaft Fellowship; 
  • 2002, STMicroelectronics Ltd. Scholarship; 
  • 2001, Outstanding Student Paper Award, IEEE Student Paper Contest, Hong Kong; 
  • 1997, Guang Hua Foundation Scholarship (2nd prize); 
  • 1996, Hua Wei Scholarship (1st prize); 
  • 1995, Excellent Graduate Student of the year, NanKai University; 
  • 1992, Motorola Scholarship for academic excellence, (1st prize); 
  • 1993, Motorola Scholarship for academic excellence, (1st prize); 
  • 1994, Motorola Scholarship for academic excellence, (1st prize); 
  • 1991, NanKai University Excellent Freshman Fellowship, (for ranking 1st place in College of Engineering and College of Science); 
  • 1991, First runner-up in National College Entrance Exam in Shaanxi Province, China